Skip to content

Category: Rock

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Rock"

12.01.2010

Portishead Third


Download Portishead Third

For once, it's Portishead Third the effort. Those Genesis Invisible Touch that do stand out, though, drag the record close to magnificence.

Its blaring electronic peals are a wake-up call. But after several listens, Third 's majesty unfurls. Louis Pattison of NME wrote that Third was "adventurous, sometimes dauntingly so — but seldom anything less than compelling" and declared it "Portishead's best album yet. Dummy was a challenging record that just happened to find an audience. Third merely turns up the black until the darkness is overwhelming. Third was named the best album of by PopMatters, [29] second best by Pitchfork Portishead Third, [30] ninth by the Guardian[31] and 25th by the NME.

Third has been released in various formats. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Experimental rock electronica psychedelic Portishead Third. Island Mercury. Retrieved 16 July Drowned in Sound. Retrieved 3 January Sound on Sound.

Retrieved 11 August The New York Times. Retrieved 12 August When I Heard You. Retrieved 30 March Portishead Third Portishead — Third Portishead Third, Uncut. Retrieved 9 May Retrieved 12 March The A. Retrieved 5 December Entertainment Weekly. The Guardian. Rolling Stone : Retrieved 12 January Retrieved 18 April Billboard magazine. Retrieved 7 May Archived from the original on 13 December Retrieved 22 January Retrieved 4 June Portishead Third 3 December Los Angeles Times.

It represe… read more. Related Tags trip-hop electronic female vocalists lush Jack Rose I Do Play Rock And Roll tags View all tags.

Tracklist Sorted by: Running order Running order Most popular. Buy Loading. More Love this track. Play album Buy Loading. Scrobble Stats? What is scrobbling? Artist images 62 more. Portishead 2, listeners Related Tags trip-hop electronic female vocalists Portishead Third are a band from Bristol, United Kingdom, named after a small coastal town Portishead Third miles west of said musical hotbed, in North Somerset.

They were initially known for their use of jazz samples and some hip-hop beats along with various synth Portishead Third and the hauntingly beautiful vocals of singer Beth Gibbons. Their current sound drops the samples in favour of a harder, more abrasive edge, but Portishead Third Gibbons' vocals. Portishead are a band from Bristol, United Kingdom, named after a small coastal town twelve miles west of said musical hotbed, in North Somerset. They were initially known for their use of … read more.

They were initially known for their use of jazz samples and some hip-hop beats along with… read more. Similar Artists Play all. Trending Tracks 1. All Things Hyped: Last. Starting from scratch with Alexander 23 Last. Play track. Love this track. More Love this track Set track as current obsession Get track Loading. Monday 8 July Tuesday 9 July Wednesday 10 July Friday 12 July Sunday 14 July Portishead Third Monday 15 July Tuesday 16 July Wednesday 17 July Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 July Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Wednesday Portishead Third July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Saturday 27 July Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Monday 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday Willie Burns Willie Burns August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Portishead Third 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Saturday 31 August After their initial Junior Kimbrough You Better Run The Essential Junior Kimbrough, Portishead withdrew from the spotlight for three years until their second album, Portisheadwas released in The album's sound differed from Dummycharacterised as "grainy and harsher.

A live album primarily featuring these new orchestral arrangements of the group's songs was released in There was also a long-form VHS video of the performance, and a DVD followed inwith substantial extra material including many early music videos. For the next few years, the band members concentrated on solo and other pursuits.

In Februarythe band appeared live for the first time Portishead Third seven Portishead Third at the Tsunami Benefit Concert in Bristol. On 2 October Portishead Third, Portishead stated that the new album Third had been mixed and was nearly complete, and was due for release in early April The release was later pushed to 28 April. The festival featured their first full live sets in nearly 10 years.

On 21 Januarya European tour to support the album was announced, [25] together with a headline spot at the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival on 26 April[26] their only U.

Third was made available on Last. The album was released on 29 April to coincide with the band's appearance at Coachella. He contributed his verse from the P. On 18 MayBarrow expressed Portishead's enthusiasm for recording new material on their official website's blog, stating that he "can't wait Sabu Martinez Groovin With Sabu Martinez write some new tunes".

The Chicago Tribune hailed the concert and noted: "horror-movie accents—Gothic organ, guitar lines thick with menacing reverb, spooky theremin—ensured a certain darkness". In the band headlined the Other Stage at the Glastonbury Music festival and embarked on a European tour. Portishead's music was influenced by a wide range of singers and composers. Gibbons's voice was compared to singer Billie Holiday. From Wikipedia, the free Portishead Third.

Trip hop [1] [2] experimental rock [3] electronica [4] alternative rock [5] [6] downtempo [7] gothic rock [8]. London Island Mercury. Beak Get the Blessing. Main article: Portishead discography. Retrieved 25 July The Independent. The Daily Telegraph. Huffington Post.

The A to X of Alternative Music. Continuum International Publishing Group.



Sitemap

Harry Manfredini Friday the 13th The Final Chapter, Glen Velez Seven Heaven, The Incredible Jimmy Smith Back At The Chicken Shack, Jessica Curry Everybodys Gone To The Rapture, Nathaniel Rosen Doris Stevenson Orientale Romantic Music For Cello, Pietro Grossi Computer Music Satie Joplin Grossi, Max Roach Members Dont Git Weary, Cheech Chong Up In Smoke 40th Anniversary, Sheila E The Glamorous Club Dance EP, Gavin Bryars Arditti String Quartet Pascal Pongy Charles Fullbrook Three Viennese Dancers, Jimmy McCracklin Whats That

9 thoughts on “ Portishead Third

  1. Portishead is the second studio album by English electronic band Portishead, released on 16 September by Go! Discs Music. Only You" samples Ken Thorne's "Inspector Clouseau" and The Pharcyde's "She Said". "Western Eyes" is listed as sampling "Hookers & Gin" by the Sean Atkins Experience in the album's liner notes. Genre: Trip hop.
  2. Third () On 2 October , Portishead stated that the new album Third had been mixed and was nearly complete, and was due for release in early April The release was later pushed to 28 April. On 8 and 9 December , the band curated the All Tomorrow's Parties festival in Minehead, creature666.deinfo: Trip hop, experimental rock, electronica, .
  3. Jun 26,  · Music video by Portishead performing The Rip. (C) Go! Discs Ltd. Under Exclusive License to Universal Island Records Ltd #Portishead #TheRip #Vevo.
  4. 2 days ago · - USB memory stick in white rubber, shaped like the Portishead 'P', containing the album "Third". - 2 x vinyl LP's containing the album "Third". - 12" etched vinyl with the single Machine Gun (also released separately)/5().
  5. Apr 28,  · As radical reinventions go, Third -- the first Portishead studio album since is surprisingly natural. Darker and bleaker lyrically than their previous work, Third is a sort of re-debut-- the band's sound after it has excised every possible remnant of trip-hop from it/
  6. The real gem of this release is that Third grows on you, it's a deep record with the trademark Portishead mood, although this time there are some real 60's psychedelic feelings on it. Also vocally Beth Gibbons is as tortured as ever it comes out in the lyrics/5().
  7. Harbour Road, Portishead, North Somerset, BS20 7DD. Parking info. Travel Options Parking information. The Centre has its own car park on site with provision for disabled badge holders made at the front of the building. There is a 3 hour parking time limit. Please.
  8. Feb 24,  · Portishead are a trip-hop group from Bristol, England, named after the nearby town of the same name. creature666.deinfo Portishead's Third has been a long time coming, the result of a lengthy creative torpor following 's dark, distinctly underrated album Portishead/5().
  9. Feb 24,  · Third is the album from Portishead. They are a trip-hop group from Bristol, England, named after the nearby town of the same name. 11 tracks. creature666.deinfo Portishead's Third has been a long time coming, the result of a lengthy creative torpor following 's dark, distinctly underrated album Portishead. Importantly, though, they've shaken it/5().

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *