Skip to content

Category: Rock

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Rock"

23.06.2010

The Clovers The Clovers


Download The Clovers The Clovers

The Clovers ' fortunes continued until Bailey was drafted during the summer ofand the group didn't see any significant success again until the summer of when "Good Lovin'" charted at number two with Charlie Whitelate of Billy Ward 's group the Dominoes. Beginning inwith Bailey 's discharge from the army, he and Mitchell served as joint lead singers in the group.

Their next single, "Devil or Angel," the latter an "over-the-transom" submission by an amateur songwriter named Blanche Cartergot to number three, but that marked the end of their run of hits on Atlantic. Ironically, it was those last two singles -- which were really the least representative of their sound of any of their hits -- became their best known singles, getting the widest airplay, though their version of "Devil or Angel" was later eclipsed by Bobby Vee 's recording.

They ceased charting singles and after two more years of attempts at reviving their sales, Atlantic released the bluesy sleeper classic "Down in the Alley"one of the raunchiest songs of its period ever aimed at a mainstream audience, which even had the temerity to project its lustful observations slowly.

Rather than retreat, the act, with the encouragement of their manager, Lou Krefetz, The Clovers The Clovers bolder.

He organized a new label, Poplar Records, and had the Clovers record an entire LP, an extraordinary opportunity for a group that wasn't riding high on the charts at the time -- even the Drifters had never recorded an actual LP at the time, their albums being compilations of previously recorded singles. The group scored with the LP and its accompanying single, "Pennies From Heaven," and it looked as though they might pull out of their ongoing commercial slump.

Fate then took a hand as Krefetz was offered the opportunity to become the head of sales for United Artists Records, a newly organized label that had the money of one of the top studios in Hollywood behind them. Related Tags doo wop 50s oldies rhythm and blues soul Add tags View all tags.

Similar To Clyde McPhatter. Buy Loading. More Love this track. Albums Vangelis Katsoulis The Slipping Beauty by: Most popular Most popular By release date. Play album Buy Loading. Similar Artists Play all. Trending Tracks 1. All Things Hyped: Last. Starting from scratch with Alexander 23 The Clovers The Clovers.

Jonas Brothers have all the happiness to share on reunion tour spotlight By okspud1 19 Octam. Play track. Love this track. More Love this track Set track as current obsession Get track Loading. Monday 8 July Tuesday The Clovers The Clovers July Wednesday 10 July Friday 12 July Sunday 14 July Monday 15 July Tuesday 16 July Wednesday 17 July Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 The Clovers The Clovers Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 The Clovers The Clovers Wednesday 24 July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Saturday 27 July Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Monday 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Roosevelt "Tippie" Hubbard died in Steve Charles had retired by the end of and Chuck Battle was invited to join the Lucas group.

Lucas became ill and stopped touring in and Richie Merritt was invited to join the group as his replacement. Billy Mitchell, who had sung the lead on "Love Potion Norma Jean Bell Come Into My Room. David Warren departed soon after. They recorded two versions of "Love Potion No. I wonder what'll happen with Love Potion No. The alternative The Clovers The Clovers is also included on the soundtrack release of the movie American Graffiti.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. The Clovers. General Editor: Colin Turner Street Sound Bunsens Vol 1. First published UK. The Clovers p Published May 6, Retrieved 17 March Retrieved 8 March Pop Chronicles. McQuater Jr. Harold P.

William Joseph 'Billy' Mitchell Jr. Harold Jerome Winley b. Bill Harris b.



Sitemap

Ensemble Muntu First Feeding, Breakwater Release The Beast Time, Captain Beefheart His Magic Band Yellow Brick Road Abba Zaba, BB King Live Well, Delroy Pinnock Dickey Dread Mikey Ranks Delroy Pinnock I Want To Be Babylon Walls, The Flaming Lips Mastodon A Spoonful Weighs A Ton, Screamin Jay Hawkins A Portrait Of A Man And His Woman, Jan Turkenburg In My Spaceship, Constellation Orchestra Perfect Love Affair, Tyrone Evans For Lovers Only, A Guy Called Gerald 28 Gun Bad Boy, Nikki Sudden Rowland S Howard Kiss You Kidnapped Charabanc, Omega Sunrise Run From The Night, Theorem Nano

8 thoughts on “ The Clovers The Clovers

  1. Nov 04,  · The Clovers were one of the top R&B vocal groups of the s. They recorded several top 10 R&B hits, most of which are included here. The Clovers had a more "raunchy" sound than most groups. They could even make an innocent song like "Blue Velvet" sound a little dirty. But most of their songs weren't as innocent as that one/5(4).
  2. The Very Best of the Clovers is an excellent track collection that features their biggest hits from , including "Don't You Know I Love You," "Fool, Fool, Fool," "One Mint Julep," "Ting-A-Ling," "I Played the Fool," "Hey, Miss Fannie," "Good Lovin'," "Lovey Dovey," "Little Mama," "Your Cash Ain't Nothin' But Trash," "Blue Velvet," "Devil or Angel" and "Love Potion No. 9." All of the group's best 10/
  3. Complete song listing of The Clovers on creature666.deinfo The Clovers also appears in this compilation. Tracks of Disc 1; 1. I Almost Lost My Mind - Ivory Joe Hunter.
  4. The Clovers. Profile: Doo-wop - rhythm 'n' blues vocal ensemble Formed in Washington, D.C., in with constantly changing line-up. After their first single at Rainbow Records (10), their manager Louis Krefetz brought them to Atlantic in February There were several incarnations of the group by one or the other of the starting formation.
  5. The Clovers were an R&B group formed in Washington D.C. in The group members comprised of: John H 'Buddy' Bailey (b. 2 9 th December 1, Seneca, Virginia, U.S.A. d. 3rd February , Henderson, Nevada, U.S.A. - lead).
  6. In October, Poplar released The Clovers - In Clover, an LP containing three of their single sides ("The Gossip Wheel" wasn't included), plus "Old Black Magic" (Buddy), "Jamaica Farewell" (Buddy), "What Is This Thing Called Love" (Buddy), "Pennies From Heaven" (Buddy), "Kentucky Babe" (all), "To Each His Own" (Buddy), "Vaya Con Dios" (Buddy and Matthew), and "My Mother's Eyes" (Billy). For some .
  7. The Clovers The Clovers Sing A1: One Mint Julip A2: Fool, Fool, Fool B1: Hey, Miss Fannie B2: I Played The Fool: Atlantic USA: EP: 3: The Clovers A: Crawlin' B: Yes, It's You: Atlantic USA: Feb 7" The Clovers A: Good Lovin' B: Here Goes A Fool: Atlantic USA: Jul 7" 1: The Clovers A: The Feeling Is So Good B: Comin' On: Atlantic USA: 45 .
  8. The Clovers discography and songs: Music profile for The Clovers, formed Genres: Doo-Wop, Rhythm & Blues. Albums include American Graffiti, The .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *