Skip to content

Category: Rap/hip-hop

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Rap/hip-hop"

14.01.2010

Modest Mouse This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About


Download Modest Mouse This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About

Ryan Marable. Steven Lazar. David Lapham. Purchasable with gift card. Dramamine Breakthrough Custom Concern Might Lounge Beach Side Property Head South Dog Paddle Novacain Stain Ohio Exit Does Not Exist Talking Shit About a Pretty Sunset Space Travel Is Boring The general mood here is one of loneliness and desperation, eloquently expressed through both the lyrics and the rhythmic, sprawling instrumentation.

Modest Mouse made their first significant mark with songs whose meanings are simultaneously universal and painfully personal. Tags alternative emo fat possum folk glacial pace isaac brock issaquah modest mouse northwest pacific northwest seattle this is a long drive indie pop rock Portland. Everywhere and His Nasty Parlour Tricks. Alex Jesus go to album.

On Bandcamp Radio. Trending Tracks 1. All Things Hyped: Last. Starting from scratch with Alexander 23 Last. Play track.

Love this track. More Love this track Set track as current obsession Get track Loading. Monday 8 July Tuesday 9 July Wednesday 10 July Friday 12 July Sunday 14 July Monday 15 July Tuesday 16 July Wednesday 17 July Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 July Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Wednesday 24 July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Saturday 27 July Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Various St Pauli Nachrichten Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Modest Mouse This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Hal Singer Paris Soul Food Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Saturday The Black Keys Attack Release August Sunday 1 September Monday 2 September Tuesday 3 September Wednesday 4 September Thursday 5 September Friday 6 September Saturday 7 September Sunday 8 September Monday 9 September Tuesday 10 September Wednesday 11 September Thursday 12 September Friday 13 September Saturday 14 September Sunday 15 September The great theme of both albums is travel, or more essentially, Daft Punk Da Funk motion through space feels.

This is also intricately bound up with the physical geography Modest Mouse inhabited. The urban paranoia of post-punk seeps into wide-open rural, looming industrial and encroaching suburban vistas, all alike in their sinister, hypnotic repetition. With the first words of Long Drive"traveling swallowing Dramamine," a sense of drugged conveyance through some grand monotony settles over us.

We seem to glimpse empty landscapes with twisty bits of things blowing through them in the window of a train. Strip malls and parking lots, monuments and steeples, empty fields and dark forests scroll by in a purgatorial loop.

This becomes overt on "Convenient Parking", a dusty practice riff with broken springs. For Brock, these enclosing physical confines are tantamount to mental ones; he's always moving forward without getting anywhere different, and he confronts this existential emergency with disdain and terrified awe.

The music cultivates its particular urgency by devising and then breaking free from psychic traps. The earth and heavens are not mediums but inescapable masses, crushing us in the seam where they meet. The feeling of being stuck in a small town inflates to cosmological proportions.

Home-schooled in religious hippie communes, Brock was primed for this visionary vocation. His lyrics are marked by a war between militant atheism and kind of crypto-Christian mysticism, a tension that twists his perspective into strange shapes.

On these records, the Louis Jordan Saturday Nite Fish Fry Aint Nobody Here But Us Chickens is steadily encroaching on the wild in ways that feel spiritually symbolic.

Brock wants to wrench apart ground and sky, prefabricated towns and consumer culture, to find an exit hatch into some deeper, more meaningful state of being which, as Modest Mouse This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About suspects on "Exit Does Not Exist", is a fantasy. Modest Mouse never captured their particular rural paranoia better than on Lonesome 's "Cowboy Dan", a minor key dirge that takes us to a jet-black desert rustling below the occasional shooting star.

It's a folkloric tale of a cowboy who tries to shoot down God as revenge for mortality, with eerie calls and groans floating out of a vast, breathing darkness.



Sitemap

CKY Infiltrate Destroy Rebuild, Andre Tanker Five Afro Blossom West, Various Electric Funky Afro Sound Vol 11, Burial Four Tet Nova, Various Master Of None A Netflix Original Series Soundtrack Season Two, Frankie Knuckles Your Love You Got The Love Remix, Roy C The Honey Drippers Impeach The President Roy Cs Theme, Experience 7 Experience 7, Sa Fire Boy Ive Been Told, Sonya Spence In The Dark, Peter Schoonhoven Ach Zat Ik Maar In Het Walhalla, The Disco Biscuits The Classical Set, Wilson das Neves Samba Tropi, The Shins Port Of Morrow

7 thoughts on “ Modest Mouse This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About

  1. Nov 21,  · View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Pink Vinyl release of This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About on Discogs/5(16).
  2. Feb 27,  · This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About is the debut studio album by American rock band Modest Mouse, released on April 16, by Up Records. Many of the album's tracks focus /5(65).
  3. MODEST MOUSE’S ALBUM AVAILABLE ON VINYL FOR THE FIRST TIME IN OVER 10 YEARS. "This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About" expands upon the themes of emotional and geographic isolation found in the band’s early recordings, and finds the band mixing slow, brooding numbers with thrashing guitar workouts.
  4. Oct 22,  · 50+ videos Play all Mix - Modest Mouse - Dramamine YouTube Modest Mouse - This is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About (Full Album) - Duration: Modest Mouse Man 1,,
  5. Nov 05,  · During this time they veered off into a wilderness of their own devising, debuting with the darker and tauter This Is a Long Drive for Someone With Nothing to Think About on Up Records in /
  6. Oct 22,  · This is a Long Drive To Think About is the debut album by Issiquah's Modest Mouse. Interestingly, Modest Mouse had recorded an album before it, Sad Sappy Sucker which actually ended up delayed and shelved, only to be released later/5().
  7. Dramamine Modest Mouse. Produced by Steve Wold. Album This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About. Dramamine Lyrics [Verse 1] Travelling, swallowing Dramamine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *