Skip to content

Category: Alternative

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Alternative"

20.04.2010

Steel Mill Green Eyed God


Download Steel Mill Green Eyed God

AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your browser to use the site fully. Blues Classical Country. Electronic Folk International. Jazz Latin New Age. Aggressive Bittersweet Druggy. Energetic Happy Hypnotic. Romantic Sad Sentimental. Tuesday 8 October Wednesday 9 October Thursday 10 October Friday 11 October Saturday 12 October Sunday 13 October Monday 14 October Tuesday 15 October Wednesday 16 October Thursday 17 October Friday 18 October Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Steel Mill Green Eyed God Sunday 27 October Monday 28 Robert Ffrench Heat In De Place Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday Therion Crowning Of Atlantis October Friday 1 November Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 November Friday 29 November Barbara Howard On The Rise Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Tuesday 3 December Wednesday 4 December Thursday 5 December Friday 6 December Saturday 7 December Sunday 8 December Monday 9 December Wganda Kenya Peter King Shalaode Ajo 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Saturday 14 December Sunday 15 December Steel Mill Green Eyed God Monday 16 December Be careful when looking for this album, as there are some bootlegs both in vinyl and in CD.

In its digital form, this album comes with two bonus tracks coming from associated singles - which I have no idea if they are in the same line than the album per se. In any way, shape or form, this album is a real must if you love heavy prog. This album even prompted some Pakistani engineer to apply for a job in this website, and that fact alone makes it a classic album in our beloved Prog Archives;- social review comments Review Permalink Posted Wednesday, July 7, Review this album Report Review Steel Mill are one of the most mysterious groups to have existed or not!

The sleeve-notes of Steel Mill Green Eyed God CD re-release of their one and only album detail how the Steel Mill Green Eyed God tried in vain to track down some historical information about the band.

All roads were however dead-ends, to the extent that even the British Musicians Union has no record of the any of the band members. The band released two singles infollowed by one album. Quite why there was such a gap in between is not clear. Their debut single, also called "Green eyed god", now changes hands for princely sums. The Steel Mill Green Eyed God of that track included here is considerably longer than the single, but it would have been good to have the single edit as a bonus track.

In this case, less really is more. The track "Green eyed god" is a superb mix of Plaza Hotel Bewegliche Ziele, starting with a gentle flute solo similar to some of Focus' early work. A brief vocal section is introduced over the flute, before all hell breaks loose as the track becomes a rocking guitar piece.

The album version simply toys around with these themes more, the single version being more concise and hard hitting. The producer of the album does recall that the flute parts for this track were recorded in the toilet to get the right effect! The other single released by Steel Mill is included here as a bonus track, having been inexplicably left off the original album. Alan Freeman enlightened UK DJ rightly described the track at the time Velvet Hammer Party Hardy Happy having a "mighty sound", The remainder of the album is in truth generally fairly average guitar and flute driven rock but not particularly Jethro Tull like.

Iron Butterfly's "In-a-gadda-da-vida" is another good reference point. The album sounds somewhat dated and derivative now, but at the time, it was actually pretty original. If you get the opportunity, it is worth a listen, but I would not recommend paying the inflated prices of the collectors market where the album is most likely to be found just to hear the music.

I don't remember exactly when I listened to this record the very first time, must be something like 25 years ago. But Steel Mill Green Eyed God remember well that I loved it very much Jean Paul Pognon Jean Paul Pognon from the beginning. Now after all these years I rediscovered this real gem in progressive blues rock created by five brilliant musicians about whom there's actually nothing known apart of their names.

Kassav Love Ka Dance first song already is such a great amazing bluesrocker, swampy, bluesy and intricate at the same time. On the CD release there are two bonus tracks which are very much worthwhile as well.

An absolute unique album and excellent addition to any prog collection! Even if some of the ideas seem a bit forced or disjointed, the album is characterized by numerous great guitar moves and solid drumming, flavored by Challenger's diverse plays on sax and flutes, having evident Folk, Jazz and Blues vibes.

A second single was issued the same year, but its Model 500 Interference Electronic sales led Penny Farthing to abandon any plans on Steel Mill. Williams and Watts left the band and they were replaced by Alan Plaice and Danny Easterbrook respectively. However, despite some decent Savant Stationary Dance Sensible Music performances next to Rory Gallagher's Taste, T.

Several reissues appear in the market, most of them with bonus material, and surprisingly Penny Farthing decided to reissue the original press in for the Steel Mill Green Eyed God market. What is known is that the band consisted of David Morris vocals, keyboardsTerry Williams guitarJohn Challenger sax, woodwindJeff Watts bass and Christ Martin drums, percussion. Much of this lack of information stems from the fact that despite hailing from the music mecca of s London and having released two singles, a truncated form of the title track and "Summer's Child," GREEN EYED GOD found little support from the record company which would only Steel Mill Green Eyed God an original release in Germany in and the album wouldn't find a proper debut in their native UK or North America untillong after the band had called it quits and Steel Mill Green Eyed God i say called it quits, i don't mean that the band members called it a day and moved on to other projects.

They literally fled the music business totally. All of these issues conspired to create one of rock's most enigmatic mystery bands of the era. Only Jeff Watts is known to have ventured into another project, the equally forgotten band Design. While the band was fairly original in how they composed their eight tracks on GREEN EYED GOD, the music itself relied on the template of late 60s heavy psych with fuzzed out guitar riffs in the vein Scientist vs Prince Jammy Big Showdown Iron Butterfly or Vanilla Fudge and peppered it with fluffy Brown Sugar Black Pride laden psychedelic folk with Celtic flavors along with touches of jazz and psychedelia.

Likewise, another 60s trait is that the band lacked a charismatic vocalist that carried the music to another level however Dave Morris does a decent job in carrying his weight actually.



Sitemap

Extreme Noise Terror A Holocaust In Your Head, Francis Bebey Remixed, U2 Sweetest Thing, Kibir La Amlak Amlak Yimesgen, Samba Soul Do It, Breakestra Dusk Till Dawn, Selford Walker Chant Down Babylon Music From South Side, Fade To Black In Synch, Clint Mansell Black Mirror San Junipero Original Score, Burzum RehDemo 91 Demo II, O Yuki Conjugate Into Dark Water, Djeli Moussa Diawara Djeli Moussa Diawara

6 thoughts on “ Steel Mill Green Eyed God

  1. teel Mill “Green Eyed God” "As is common knowledge among most fans, one of the earliest bands Bruce Springsteen played in was a four-piece, Led Zeppelin-esque hardrock outfit called “Steel Mill”, which existed from to Probably less known is the fact that the Jersey-based quartet shared its name with an obscure English Author: Lisa Sinder.
  2. Lyrics to 'Green Eyed God' by Steel Mill. Green-eyed god in the midnight sun, / In the night say he's the one. / If you believe you'll last the rite. / Surrender to him give up your fight.
  3. Listen free to Steel Mill – Green Eyed God (Blood Runs Deep, Summers Child and more). 10 tracks (). Discover more music, concerts, videos, and pictures with the largest catalogue online at creature666.deinfo
  4. Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for Green Eyed God - Steel Mill on AllMusic -
  5. Aug 14,  · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Steel Mill - Green Eyed God at Discogs. Complete your Steel Mill collection/5().
  6. 1) Steel Mill is from England and has no relation to the Bruce Springsteen band from the Jersey shore. The "Green Eyed God" album got a German release on Bellaphon (BLPS ) in but had to wait three more years for a UK airing, by which time they'd split.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *