Skip to content

Category: Alternative

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Alternative"

16.04.2010

The Bar Kays Holy Ghost Monster


Download The Bar Kays Holy Ghost Monster

The Bar-Kays January 1, Add to Wishlist. Listen to this album and millions more. First month free. Bob Andy Experience Let Them Say Review Policy.

Flag as inappropriate. Similar Artists Play all. Trending Tracks 1. All Things Hyped: Last. Monday 8 July Tuesday 9 July Wednesday 10 July Friday 12 July Sunday 14 July Monday 15 July Tuesday 16 July Wednesday 17 July Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 July Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Wednesday 24 July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Kreng Monster 27 Stanley Myers Images Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Monday 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Retrieved October 14, The great rock discography.

The National Academies. Retrieved Ricardo Villalobos Que Belle Epoque 2006 19, Hal Leonard Corporation. Retrieved January 25, The New York TimesSeptember 24, Accessed May 10, What you get is a bunch of hard funk tunes with rock undertones, which would later be used by the likes of the RZA to underpin classic songs by GZA and Raekwon.

Sitting in the middle of the disc is the funk monster that is Holy Ghost, sounding somewhat out of place, but acting as a fantastic centrepiece The Bar Kays Holy Ghost Monster. The total running time is only 45 minutes, so this is a consistently thrilling greatest hits collection, not a flabby two disc set Luis Paniagua Neptuno tons of padding as we've been accustomed to.

Highly recommended once you've got your dose of Funkadelic, JB, Family Stone, and looking for something else to satisfy the funk cravings. This is a collection of tracks from the early years of the Bar-Kays when they were the Stax house band, Backing up legends like Issac Hayes, Otis Redding and others. Great CD. Format: Audio CD. One of The Bar Kays Holy Ghost Monster key elements in even the most superficial enjoyment of the Bar Kays is usually a feeling of mild frustration.

Here we have a band that were probably the most overall instrumentally talented and ambitious bands in Stax's history. They had one fatal flaw: throughout their career,their sound never came into focus in terms of its originality.

As with Lenny Kravitz a couple decades later,they tended to be extremely bound to their influences. But theirs is a name that literally points to survival,having survived conceptually the plane crash that killed all but one of its original members along with Otis Redding. Not at all what typically comes to my mind when thinking of the Bar Kays. Somehow though the groove is a bit deeper and more Southern flavored.

Mary Love Lay This Burden Down Think It Over Baby a bonus piece in "Memphis Sunrise",a nicely cinematic number with a strong jazzy flavor rather indicative of what the Crusaders were doing at that time.

When the band jumped ship to Mercury,the bands sound became Daft Punk TRON El Legado Soundtrack Original lot more contemporary.

And while these songs laid the groundwork for what they'd do in the future,the sound they had on Stax wasn't as overtly imitative as it would be on Mercury. Yet The Bar Kays Holy Ghost Monster presents the band at their most The Bar Kays Holy Ghost Monster and powerful. Format: MP3 Music. If you are a funk enthusiast, you probably own this album already.

If you like funk, but have never heard this album, buy it now or right after you're done reading this. All in all, Money Talks is a fine slab of vintage funk that will please anyone who loves old-school grooves.

AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your browser to use The Bar Kays Holy Ghost Monster site fully. Blues Classical Country. Electronic Folk International.

Jazz Latin New Age.



Sitemap

Various State Of Mind EP, Eddie Boyd Praise To Helsinki, John Reids Output, Neon Voices Remix, Bibio Phantom Brickworks, Determinations Too Much Oppression, Various The Original Sound Of Mali, Legendary Shack Shakers JDs Tasteless Chill Tonic, Various Light Industry, Front 242 Endless Riddance

7 thoughts on “ The Bar Kays Holy Ghost Monster

  1. Holy Ghost / Monster ~ Release by The Bar‐Kays (see all versions of this release, 1 available) Overview; Disc IDs; Cover Art (0) Aliases; Tags; Details; Edit; Edit Relationships; Holy Ghost by The Bar‐Kays (track A) Monster by The Bar‐Kays (track B) sampled by: Trapped by 2Pac (track A.
  2. Sep 29,  · Album - Money Talks - Stax Records. This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
  3. BAR-KAYS - holy ghost / monster - creature666.deinfo Music. Skip to main content. Try Prime CDs & Vinyl Go Search EN Hello Price: $
  4. The Bar-Kays are an American soul, R&B, and funk group formed in The group had dozens of charting singles from the s to the s, including "Soul Finger" (US Billboard Hot number 17, R&B number 3) in , "Son of Shaft" (R&B number 10) in .
  5. Holy Ghost (Reborn) Lyrics: Your love, it's got the Holy Ghost / A-shakin' in my bones / I never felt such a feelin' / In all the days I been round, yeah / Whenever I feel the pressure / Jah! I.
  6. The Bar‐Kays: 1: Holy Ghost / Monster: The Bar‐Kays: 1: Do It (Let Me See You Shake) The Bar‐Kays: 1: Showing official release groups by this artist. Show all release groups instead, or show various artists release groups. Artist information Sort name: Bar‐Kays, The Type: Group Founded.
  7. Made up of tracks recorded for Stax Records before its collapse, Money Talks was released on Stax by its new owner, Fantasy Records, in October to capitalize on The Bar-Kays' newfound success at Mercury creature666.deinfo album would chart at number twenty one on the Billboard Soul Album charts. The single "Holy Ghost" would chart at number nine on the Soul Singles Charts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *