Skip to content

Category: Grunge

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Grunge"

11.02.2010

Billy Joe Shaver Old Five And Dimers Like Me


Download Billy Joe Shaver Old Five And Dimers Like Me

Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Billy Joe Shaver Old Five And Dimers Like Me 31 August Sunday 1 September Monday 2 September Tuesday 3 September Wednesday 4 September Thursday Billy Joe Shaver Old Five And Dimers Like Me September Friday 6 September Saturday 7 September Sunday 8 September Monday 9 September Tuesday 10 September Wednesday 11 September Thursday 12 September Friday 13 September Saturday 14 September Sunday 15 September Monday 16 September Tuesday 17 September Wednesday 18 September Thursday 19 September Friday 20 Various Misterios Del Universo Saturday 21 September Sunday 22 September Sluggy Ranks Dont Be Prejudiced Monday 23 September Tuesday 24 September Wednesday 25 September Thursday 26 September Friday 27 September Saturday 28 September Sunday 29 September Monday 30 September Tuesday 1 October Add to Wishlist.

Listen to Billy Joe Shaver Old Five And Dimers Like Me album and millions more. First month free. Reviews Review Policy. Flag as inappropriate. See more. Ridin' High. Jerry Jeff Walker. Texas Cookin. Guy Clark. Texas Cookin' is the second studio album by Texas Outlaw country singer-songwriter Guy Clark, released in It was reissued on CD by Sugar Hill.

He was already heralded a fine songwriter by Jerry Jeff WalkerWillie Nelsonand Waylon Jenningsbut even they'd recorded one or two songs of his up to that point. After the issue of this debut album, however, the floodgates opened for Shaver with the aforementioned trio and Johnny Cash himself recording Billy Joe 's songs -- a trend that continued 30 years later.

Old Five and Dimers Like Me reveals a songwriter at the height of his power, a songwriter Die Antwoord Tenion undersells his case via quiet melodic music steeped in Texas country, folk, and the blues.

While the title track is best known and the Kip Tyler Shes My Witch often recorded Waylon based his Merva Grey Stop The War Honky Tonk Heroes around that track as the basis for an album of Shaver 's tuneseach of this CD's 14 songs are gems. Shaver was a study in contradictions on this album and proved to be so in life as well.

He was a big man on the cover, a rough and tumble farmer who liked his music hot and simple and wrote words like a poet laureate. His performances of his own songs have been derided in the past because of the supposed limitations in his voice. But though he may not produce the performance drama that some of his peers can, his versions of these songs are far more poignant than any cover version of them. Shaver has always possessed an elegant and humble sense of dignity; it's on this recording, and on each one that followed.

Old Five and Dimers Like Me is a masterpiece not only as a genesis for outlaw country, but of American songwriting at its very best. Black Rose. Woman Is the Wonder of the World.

Sweet Mama. Street Walkin' Woman. Fit to Kill and Going Out in Style. One Moving Part. Bottom Dollar. I'm Just an Old Chunk of Coal. Oklahoma Wind. You Can't Beat Jesus Christ. Old Five and Dimers Like Me. Track Listing - Disc 2. Black Rose [DVD].



Sitemap

Beatles Let It Be, Roger Waters Radio KAOS, Walter Bishop Jr Soul Village, Mental Cube Chile Of The Bass Generation, Mickey Sylvia No Good Lover Walkin In The Rain, X Vanishing Vision, Archie Bell The Drells Strategy, Brigitte Bardot Show, Tobacco Maniac Meat, Tomorrow My White Bicycle, Peter Green The End Of The Game, Ulrich Krieger Early American Minimalism Walls Of Sound II Wallpatterns Patternwalls

8 thoughts on “ Billy Joe Shaver Old Five And Dimers Like Me

  1. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Old Five And Dimers Like Me on Discogs/5(26).
  2. Aug 27,  · You claim that “Old Five and Dimers (Like Me)” was John Steinbeck’s favorite song. I’ve tried to verify this and found an interview where Shaver claims Steinbeck’s son told him that at a Dylan concert. However, Steinbeck died in From what I can tell, Shaver’s .
  3. Essentially, Billy Joe Shaver's Live from Austin Texas is a reissue of the DVD New West released in , with a compact disc added as a companion piece. This Austin City Limits show from presented Billy Joe and his thenyear-old guitar-wizard son Eddy (now deceased), and the rhythm section of Kenny Hoelscher on bass and drummer Jimmy Lester. 8/
  4. Apr 03,  · Old Five and Dimers Like Me is archetypal outlaw country. Released in , it's a showcase for Billy Joe Shaver's significant songwriting skills (the title track and a couple others became standards in Lone Star circles). As a vocalist, Shaver is a gruff droner a la Five and Dimers producer Kris Kristofferson. In other words, he doesn't range far, but he hits the mark most of the time/5(12).
  5. Apr 03,  · My first introduction to Billy Joe Shaver came with the purchase of "Tramp on Your Street" back in That's a great album itself, and a total contrast to the much simpler sound found on "Old Five and Dimers Like Me". If you already like Billy Joe Shaver /5(12).
  6. Old Five and Dimers Like Me Lyrics: I've spent a lifetime / Making up my mind to be / More than the measure / Of what I thought others could see / Good luck and fast bucks / Are too far and too.
  7. Old Five And Dimers Like Me By Billy Joe Shaver rmofle at creature666.deinfo 5/24/04 A E I've spent a lifetime making up my mind to be E A More than the measure of what I thought others could see A A7 D Good luck and fast bucks are too far and too few between E A Cadillac buyers and old five and dimers like me She stood beside me, letting me know she would be Something to lean on when everything ran.
  8. Old Five and Dimers Like Me reveals a songwriter at the height of his power, a songwriter who undersells his case via quiet melodic music steeped in Texas country, folk, and the blues. While the title track is best known and the most often recorded (Waylon based his entire Honky Tonk Heroes around that track as the basis for an album of Shaver 's tunes), each of this CD's 14 songs are gems/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *