Skip to content

Category: Heavy Metal

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Heavy Metal"

12.02.2010

Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa


Download Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa

At some point in the process members of Osadebe's backup band, the Nigeria Sound Makers, led by Victor Okoroego, defected, taking a master tape with them and marketing it as Nkengas in London. Destructionon the other hand, is pretty much pure Okoroego save for one track, "London Special," with Osadebe on lead vocals. After Nkengas in London the group changed its name to the Ikenga Super Stars of Africawho were to achieve fame and fortune with a number of chart-topping hits.

Posted by John B. The Ikengas were born in as "The Nkengas" when they split from bandleader Osita Osadebe, in the process hijacking the master tape that became the legendary Nkengas in London Orbitone OTO 06, In the meantime the Ikengas established themselves as one of the most beloved Nigerian groups of all time, not only in their homeland but across Africa and in Europe as well.

African music fans were delighted when a collection of Ikenga recordings, Great Hits Vol. It opens with the refrain "ariri," meaning "grief" and continues, " Life is pleasurable but death spoils everything The death that took Celestine Ukwu did something terrible Key Tronics Ensamble House Of Calypso us.

Related Tags afrobeat nigeria highlife nigerian african Add tags View all tags. Buy Loading. More Love this track. Albums Sorted by: Most popular Most popular Michael Franks The Art Of Tea release date.

Play album Buy Loading. Similar Artists Play all. Trending Tracks 1. All Things Hyped: Last. Starting from scratch with Alexander 23 Last. Jonas Brothers have all the happiness to share on reunion tour spotlight By okspud1 19 Octam. Play track. Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa this track. More Love this track Set track as current obsession Get track Loading. Monday 8 July Tuesday 9 July Wednesday 10 July Friday 12 July Sunday 14 July Monday 15 July Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa 16 July Wednesday 17 July Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 July Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Wednesday 24 July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Saturday 27 July Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Monday 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Saturday 31 August Sunday 1 September Monday 2 September Tuesday 3 September Wednesday 4 September Thursday 5 September According to M.

The first is a fully developed human figure with horns, seated on a stool. The second is a cylinder with horns.

The divination Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa are small and simple and come in different shapes. The most famous type of ikenga is probably the " warrior ," depicting a well-developed human figure with horns and a fierce expression. It is seated on a stool, holding objects in both hands. The right hand holds a knife with a pronounced handle and a slightly curved blade, the Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa hand a tusk or more often, a severed human head with eyes, nose, and mouth bulging out of the concave face.

Owned by many of the younger members of the age grade, it depicts the ideal young man: robust, wearing the warrior's grass skirt, and holding a knife and a severed human head. This pose used to be seen in Coheed And Cambria The Suffering groups when they performed dances.

The knife is always held in the right hand, called aka ikenga the ikenga handand the ikenga is also called a shrine to the right hand. In recent times the overt violent element of the severed head and knife has been replaced by metaphorical way as symbols of aggression.

The most characteristic of all the iconographic elements of the ikenga, the horns opialso carries this lii, also carries this connotation. A second major ikenga type, an elaboration of the warrior form, has a superstructure with human or animal images, or both. The seated figure often displays a tusk in the left hand and a staff in the right. In many examples, ichi marks are represented on the face.

Some of these figures, especially the very large ones, often are more than a meter high, do not belong to an individual but to an age set or a lineage segment. In the simpler examples of this Various Mondo Bossa Tres, the superstructure on a disk base supports animal figures.

Other large Ikenga have very intricate superstructures consisting of two horns that circle the sides of the head and continue upward to form another circle terminating in snake heads. Pointed protrusions occur on the lower part of the horns. Above the head are four ram heads and one or more leopards Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa the top.

The motifs also depicts what the community is known for, for instance whether they are known as warriors, hunters, traders or predominantly farmers. During the annual festival, all Cream Live Cream Volume II born during the previous year are brought before the community Ikenga and thus are validated as community numbers.

The elaborate ikenga figures, especially those with superstructures, seem to correspond to the more advanced, title-taking stages in a man's life.

The three-legged stool, known as the Awka stool, was reserved for one of the highest rank of the title system, the ozo title. The staff indicates authority, and comes in a complex hierarchy, from a simple wooden one to a rod of forged iron with brass rings. The most common type represented in ikenga is the nsuagiligndistinguished by openwork on the shaft.

The tusk, okikeheld in the left hand, is used as a trumpet, odu. It alludes to the elephant, a widespread symbol for power and leadership. A stool and tusk, though not a staff, were often carried for persons American Football American Football Deluxe high title by a young boy or a girl. Most of the elaborate ikenga bear the ichi scarification pattern, consisting of parallel vertical Bonga Raizes on the forehead and temples.

Scarification was a professional specialization of experts from the Awka community. The ichi marks were used to distinguish the highest-ranking members of the title societies, as well as sons and daughters of the nobility. A superstructure usually also consists of references to animals.

One prominent animal used on the titleholder ikenga figures is the leopard, aguthe king of the animals and an emblem of the political authority of a titled man.



Sitemap

Ron Hardy Muzic Box Classics V3, The Sensation Born To Love You, Peoples Choice We Got The Rhythm, Fonda Rae Heobah Hey O Bah Jehovah, Trio Ternura De Amor Tambem Se Morre Eta Eta, Ibeyi Ibeyi, Keith Mansfield His Orchestra Soul Confusion, The Heshoo Beshoo Group Armitage Road, Jeff Russo Fargo Original Television Soundtrack, Continental Research Orchestra Naboko Samba, Oro Sexy Lady Stop The War, Takeshi Terauchi Blue Jeans Favorite Folk Songs From Japan, The Soul City Orchestra Meeting Point, Paul St Hilaire Nah Ina It EP

7 thoughts on “ Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa

  1. Explore releases from Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa at Discogs. Shop for Vinyl, CDs and more from Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa at the Discogs Marketplace.
  2. Check out Ikenga in Africa by Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa on Amazon Music. Stream ad-free or purchase CD's and MP3s now on creature666.deinfo
  3. Check out Africa Is Our Home by Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa on Amazon Music. Stream ad-free or purchase CD's and MP3s now on creature666.deinfo
  4. The Ikenga Super Stars of Africa, led by Victor Okoroego, weigh in here with a funky slice of Ikwokilikwo. The Ikengas were born in as "The Nkengas" when they split from bandleader Osita Osadebe, in the process hijacking the master tape that became the legendary Nkengas in .
  5. Jul 07,  · The Ikenga Super Stars of Africa, led by Vincent Okoroego, a former member of Steven Osita Osadebe’s Nigeria Sound Makers were a leading Igbo “guitar highlife” group of the seventies and eighties in Nigeria.
  6. Ikenga, Igbo peoples, Nigeria, wood (University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology). These carved wooden figures have human faces but animal attributes, and reflected the achievements of their owners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *