Skip to content

Category: Soul

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Soul"

19.04.2010

The Rolling Stones Black And Blue


Download The Rolling Stones Black And Blue

Tuesday 8 October Wednesday 9 October Thursday 10 October Friday 11 October Saturday 12 October Sunday 13 October Monday 14 October Tuesday 15 October Wednesday 16 The Rolling Stones Black And Blue Thursday 17 October Friday 18 October Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Jn Louis Maguy Libete 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Monday 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday 31 October Friday 1 November Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday The Rolling Stones Black And Blue November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 Mike Grant Its A Detroit Thing Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 November Friday 29 November Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Cherry Oh Baby.

Memory Motel. Hey Negrita. Fool To Cry. Crazy Mama. By placing your order, you agree to our Terms of Use. Customer reviews. Customer images. See all customer images. Top Reviews Most recent Top Reviews. There was a problem filtering reviews right The Rolling Stones Black And Blue. Please try again later. I really can't say any more than some of the other top reviewers.

The Stones Black and Blue is definitely one of their most over-looked gems. Changes were happening. From guitarist's to production managers, it all has an The Rolling Stones Black And Blue. Personally I liked it. Sure there is some funky raggae style tunes here, but also some real classic The Rolling Stones Black And Blue. Fool to Cry is probably the most well known song from Black and Blue as it made the Forty Licks compilation.

The best thing is, these Virgin records '94 remaster's are a Bargain! And it sounds great. Matches up perfectly with the quality of Forty Licks so you can mix and match your favorite songs maybe on an ipod and not hear major differences. Rock ON! Steven Peterson Top Contributor: Baseball. A few days back, I started trying to remember the songs on this work. And then I started wondering if this CD was as mediocre as I The Rolling Stones Black And Blue thought.

Well, I just listened, and it's a bunch better than I remembered. Great Stones? Good Stones' music? This was the "try out" album for who might succeed Mick Taylor on guitar. Let's take a look at a few cuts.

But I think that this is a rather catchy tune, Frank Zappa Finer Moments some good guitar byplay between Mandell and Keith Richards. Billy Preston is good on piano. I also think that the "change of pace" vocals from Mick Jagger work pretty well. Lines: "He shot me once, but I shot him twice," and Aerosmith Rocks "I watched him die.

As he had done the previous time the Stones were between second guitarists inKeith Richards recorded Big Daddy Kane Smooth Operator bulk of Mirage 14 Featuring Chip E Jack Trax guitar parts himself, though the album recording sessions also served as an audition for Taylor's Cornel Campbell My Country. Richards said of the album that it was used for "rehearsing guitar players, that's what that one was about.

Wood had previously contributed to the title track The Rolling Stones Black And Blue the It's Only Rock 'n Roll album, and would become a full-time member of the Stones in The Stones rhythm section of bassist Bill Wyman and drummer Charlie Watts appear on nearly all tracks, and frequent collaborators Nicky Hopkins and Billy Preston play keyboards on Miguel Herrero Iolantha of the album, with percussionist Ollie E.

Brown also appearing on about half of the tracks. The album was the second to be self-produced, credited to " The Glimmer Twins ", a pseudonym used by Jagger and Richards for their roles as producers. Black and Blue showed the band blending its traditional rock and roll style with heavy influences from reggae and funk music.

Only one single from the album, " Fool to Cry ", had any significant chart success, and criticism of the album was mixed. The album received a few positive reviews at the time of release, though many reviewers found it mostly forgettable, and tended to rank it very low compared to prior Stones releases.

Retrospective reviews from more recent publications such as AllMusic have been kinder to the album, with critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine stating that the album's "being longer on grooves and jams than songs" ended up being "what's good about it". With a view to releasing it in time for a summer Tour of the Americasthe band broke for the holidays and returned in January in Rotterdam, Netherlandsto continue working—all the while auditioning new guitarists as they recorded.

Guitar heroes Rory Gallagher and Jeff Beck both went over for a jam with the band "just to see what was going on," but both declined interest in joining the group, happy with their solo careers. Jeff Beck stated that, "in Ray Russell Mike Moran City Limits hours I got to play three chords — I need a little more energy than that.

Following the conclusion of the tour, the Eddie Kendricks People Hold On went to Montreux, Switzerlandin October for some overdub work, returning to Musicland Studios in Munich in December to perform similar work.

That month the Stones The Rolling Stones Black And Blue to Sanibel Island Beach on Sanibel IslandFlorida, to be photographed by fashion photographer Hiro for the album cover art. Stylistically, Black and Blue embraces hard rock with "Hand of Fate" and "Crazy Mama"; funk with "Hot Stuff"; reggae with their cover of "Cherry Oh Baby"; and jazz with "Melody," featuring the talents of Billy Preston — a heavy contributor to the album. Musical and thematic styles were merged on the seven-minute "Memory Motel," with both Jagger and Richards contributing lead vocals to a love song embedded within a life-on-the-road tale.

Bill Wyman would later release a The Rolling Stones Black And Blue of "Melody" with his Rhythm Kingscrediting Preston as author. Popular on Rolling Stone. This is most obviously displayed as a production flaw, although the lack of song structure is a symptom, too. Merely resequencing the songs would have helped. There is plenty of good stuff left, although all of it is marred by the need for fuller, firmer instrumentation.

The former is perplexing news, but the latter may be regarded by one and all as a good omen. Stalked by the same lonely terror that haunts so many recent Stones numbers, Jagger is consoled and sometimes berated by his daughter, his woman, his best friends. He opens with a neat, oblique comment on his own parenthood, another sign of his maturity. But what is finally striking about the song is that Mick Jagger is now living up to his inspirations.

He tried to match Otis Redding and Marvin Gaye for power in his younger days, and failed brilliantly. Older and wiser, he proves F Battiato Come Un Cammello In Una Grondaia equal as a singer of ballads.



Sitemap

Various Je Suis Funky Je Suis Frenchy, Rootical 45 Daniel Tribal War, Piper Pimienta Y Su Orquesta La Fuente, Cal Tjader Cal Tjader Plugs In, Long Beach Dub Allstars Right Back, Javaroo Out, Ned Doheny To Prove My Love, Superlife Go Bananas, ICube Disco Cubizm, Peter Abdul Get Down With Me

9 thoughts on “ The Rolling Stones Black And Blue

  1. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Gatefold, Monarch Pressing Vinyl release of Black And Blue on Discogs/5().
  2. The Rolling Stones recorded Black and Blue while auditioning Mick Taylor's replacement, so it's unfair to criticize it, really, for being longer on grooves and jams than songs, especially since that's what's good about it. Yes, the two songs that are undeniable highlights are "Memory Motel" and "Fool to Cry," the album's two ballads and, therefore, the two that had to be written and arranged, not knocked out in the 6/
  3. "Black and Blue" is the first Stones' album without Mick Taylor after his exit. "Memory Motel" is a wonderful ballad, so is "Fool to Cry" and "Crazy Mama" is a cool song. The rest is pretty silly.6/
  4. Oct 25,  · The Rolling Stones - Hot Stuff (Special Edited Short Version) 45 RPM vinyl (Blue Label Promo).
  5. Black and Blue is an album by The Rolling Stones, released in It was the band's first studio album released with Ronnie Wood as the replacement for Mick Taylor.
  6. Feb 15,  · The Rolling Stones' fifth studio album of the s (and sixth overall for their Rolling Stones Records label which was distributed by Atlantic Records) entitled Black and /5(98).
  7. Black and Blue is the 13th British and 15th American studio album by the band the Rolling Stones, released in This album was the first recorded after former guitarist Mick Taylor quit Genre: Hard rock, blues rock, disco, funk rock, reggae rock.
  8. Nov 23,  · The Stones Black and Blue is definitely one of their most over-looked gems. Sitting right between It's Only Rock and Roll ('74) and the ever-popular Some Girls ('78) it is a transitional album. Changes were happening/5(83).
  9. Black and Blue may not be the invincible Rolling Stones of our dreams, but that is also a virtue in its way.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *