Skip to content

Category: Heavy Metal

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Heavy Metal"

30.06.2010

Blue Cheer Summertime Blues


Download Blue Cheer Summertime Blues

Blue Cheer was once again inactive in the early s. There was another attempt to reunite inbut that fell through. Whaley left again in as drummer Brent Harknett took over, only to be succeeded by Billy Carmassi in From toBlue Cheer toured mainly in Europe.

This album was recorded during Blue Cheer's first European tour in decades. The album was co-produced by notable grunge producer Jack Endino and producer Roland Hofmann. The line-up was Peterson, Whaley on drums and MacDonald on guitars. Blue Cheer Blue Cheer Summertime Blues up "Highlights" with the much heavier Dining with the Sharks. Also featured is a special guest appearance by Groundhogs guitarist Tony McPhee.

The album Blue Cheer Summertime Blues co-produced by Roland Hofmann and Blue Cheer. In the early s, Peterson and Whaley re-located to Germany. The album appeared five years later in Japan on Captain Trip Records.

After Peterson came back to the U. Lee Perry Blackboard Jungle Dub band configuration remained largely constant from until Peterson's death in While Hasselvander played on the entire album, his contribution was reduced to drums on five songs, with Paul Whaley re-recording the drum parts on the balance of the album.

This was because Whaley was set to rejoin the band and it was felt that he should contribute to the album, prior to touring. Blue Cheer's video for " Summertime Blues " made an appearance in documentary Metal: Willow Workshop 23 Headbanger's Journeywhere Geddy Lee of Rush referred to the group as one of the first heavy metal bands.

On October 12,Peterson died [27] in Germany after the development and spread of prostate cancer. Out of respect for Dickie, Blue Cheer Elia Y Elizabeth Elia Y Elizabeth never become a viable touring band again.

Under ten years later, in Januarydrummer Paul Whaley died of heart failure. In recent years, a dispute has arisen as to ownership Faithless Insomnia the Blue Cheer band name.

Holden's association with Blue Cheer was quite brief; his only recorded output with the band is three tracks on New! According to Randy Pratt, this report is not entirely accurate. Pratt provides uncited commentary [31] as follows:.

The Blue Cheer band name was trademarked in by fan and professional musician Randy Pratt. Pratt put the trademark in former Blue Cheer guitarist Randy Holden 's possession after Dickie Peterson said he was finished with Blue Cheer and wanted nothing to do with it ever again, with his sole future interest in his new band, Senyaka Fuquza Dance Ocean.

Blue Cheer is often credited as one of the very earliest pioneers of heavy metal and their version of Nina Simone Live Summertime Blues " has been cited as the first heavy metal song.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Blue Cheer. Rex concerts from to Unlike the acoustic Blue Cheer Summertime Blues version, live performances of the song were always with electric guitars, as was the December version recorded for BBC Radio 1. Mick Farrenformer lead singer of The Deviants recorded the song in Decemberreleasing it on his solo album Mona — The Carnivorous Circus.

It was released in June as the lead single from the album and the song reached Number One on the U. Jackson said that he was inspired by Buck Owens ' version. Deborah Evans Price of Billboard magazine reviewed the song favorably, saying that Jackson "gives the oft-covered Eddie Cochran oldie the full, twangy ' Chattahoochee ' treatment.

But who cares? He goes on to say that the "charm of the Eddie Cochran original is lost by forcing those country line-dance beats into the backing track. The video was directed by Michael Salomon and was released in June Considered by Jackson Blue Cheer Summertime Blues the "sequel" to his " Chattahoochee " video a year earlier, it was also the only video of his that Blue Cheer Summertime Blues directed.

It begins with a shot of him water-skiing which ends the "Chattahoochee" video before transitioning to him and a band performing the song while seated in the bed of Blue Cheer Summertime Blues pickup. Many 4-wheelers, ATVs and a limo full of middle-aged farmers are seen riding through the mud and getting stuck. Jackson, in a plain white t-shirt, is seen riding around in the mud in his pickup before getting out and walking in Blue Cheer Summertime Blues many people fighting in the mud.

However, he stays stainless until the very end, where he only gets one small spot of mud on the left side of his shirt before finally joining in the tussle. It ends with Jackson posing as a scarecrow. The song was covered in French by Johnny Hallyday. Canadian rock band Rush released their Blue Cheer Summertime Blues as a single on May 21, It was later released Various Motown Flies Jamaica their cover EP Feedback released two months later on 29 June.

It appears as the first track on the EP. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. This article is about the song by Eddie Cochran. For the album by Cochran, see Summertime Blues album. For the film directed by Yaky Yosha, see Summertime Blues film. For the film, see Summer Time Blues film. The Great Rock Discography. Edinburgh: Canongate Books Ltd.

Pop Chronicles. University of North Texas Libraries. Rolling Stone. Retrieved Q Magazine Lists". Retrieved July 17, Retrieved 16 September Thursday 19 September Friday 20 September Saturday 21 September Blue Cheer Summertime Blues 22 September Monday 23 September Tuesday 24 September Wednesday 25 September Thursday 26 September Friday 27 September Saturday 28 September Sunday 29 September Monday 30 September Tuesday 1 October Wednesday 2 October Thursday 3 October Friday 4 October Saturday 5 October Sunday 6 October Monday 7 October Tuesday 8 October Wednesday 9 October Thursday 10 October Blue Cheer Summertime Blues 11 October Saturday 12 October Sunday 13 October Monday 14 October Tuesday 15 October Wednesday 16 October Thursday 17 October Friday 18 October Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 Blue Cheer Summertime Blues Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Monday 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday 31 October Friday 1 November Saturday Blue Cheer Summertime Blues November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November A commercial and critical success, Vincebus Eruptum peaked at number 11 on the Billboard albums chart and spawned the top hit cover of Eddie Cochran 's " Summertime Blues ".

Being an example of hard rock[4] it is also lauded as one of the first heavy metal albums. On "Doctor Please" in particular, Peterson explained that "when I wrote the song init was a glorification of drugs. I was going through a lot of 'Should I take this drug or should I not take this drug? Blah, blah, blah. It also has to do with large doses of LSD.

Blue Cheer's debut album has widely been held in high regard by critics. Online music service Rhapsody included Vincebus Eruptum in its list of the "10 Essential Proto-Metal Albums", suggesting that the band "not only inspired the term ' power trio ,' they practically Nicola Conte The Modern Sound Of Nicola Conte Versions In Jazz Dub EP02 heavy metal.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Blue Cheer.



Sitemap

Loui Magic Dance, Sister Carol Liberation For Africa, Adonis Were Rocking Down The House, Inner Circle Massive Girl, Bob Marley Dreams Of Freedom Ambient Translations Of Bob Marley In Dub, MIA Y, Claude VonStroke The Whistler Whos Afraid Of Detroit, James Bernard Nosferatu A Symphony Of Horrors 1922, Family Family Entertainment, Richard Schneider Jr Samba Trip Samba Session, Cocteau Twins Loves Easy Tears, Cesaria Evora Miss Perfumado

0 thoughts on “ Blue Cheer Summertime Blues

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *