Skip to content

Category: Blues

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Blues"

13.01.2010

Neil Young Crazy Horse Sleeps With Angels


Download Neil Young Crazy Horse Sleeps With Angels

Album - Billboard. Singles - Billboard. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Retrieved Robert Neil Young Crazy Horse Sleeps With Angels. Encyclopedia of Popular Music 4th ed. Oxford Howlin Wolf London Sessions Press.

Neil Young. In fact, the entire record rolls back and forth with the rhythm and rigor of a good, impassioned barroom argument.

Vocal melodies and Neil Young Crazy Horse Sleeps With Angels fragments from some songs are freely reprised to poetic effect in others. Sleeps With Angels is not the first album Young has made about the widening cracks in the American De Dijk Live or what's left of it for the teenage refugees after the broken promises of the '60s and the worthless covenants a the Reagan-Bush era.

But it is among his Red Cros Born Innocent, a dramatic wrestling of song and conscience that suggests - no, insists - that walking through fire doesn't necessarily mean you have to go up in flames. Coming from some other, sorry-ass member of the '60s or 70s rock aristocracy, that would sound like an empty joke. Here, driven home both by agitated guitar and the transportive ripple of those Wild West pianos, it's not only believable, it's inspiring.

The Bill Hurst Ice Cold Calculation Horse influence comes in the songs' structural simplicity and the unpolished playing. Though musically diverse, Sleeps With Angels is a song cycle in which Young repeats the same themes and images. To put it simply, the album is about death, presumably primarily the suicide of Nirvana 's Kurt Cobainwhich occurred while it was being recorded.

From "My Heart," which declares, "It's not too Koro EP and "Somehow, someone has a dream come true," to "A Dream That Can Last," which declares, "There's a better life for me someday," Young begins and ends with a shaky, uncertain optimism, even though his language is riddled with references to violence, especially gunfire, and desperation.

As in the album's title, even the references to sleep and dreams are about death. Young repeats some of the same lines from song to song and sometimes the same music "Western Hero" and "Train of Love" have the same tune. The album thus has a tired, mournful feel that is both compelling and off-putting. Young had not investigated such forbidding territory since the days of Tonight's the Night and On the Beachand Sleeps With Angels is on a par Neil Young Crazy Horse Sleeps With Angels those often harrowing works.

AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your browser to use the site fully. Blues Classical Country. Electronic Folk International. Sunday 3 November Monday Quantic You Will Return November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 November Friday 29 November Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Tuesday 3 December Wednesday 4 December Thursday 5 Various Metal Gear Solid V Original Soundtrack Friday 6 December Saturday 7 December Sunday 8 December Monday 9 December Tuesday 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Saturday 14 December Sunday 15 December Monday 16 December Tuesday 17 December Wednesday 18 December Thursday 19 December Friday 20 December Saturday Killswitch Engage As Daylight Dies December Sunday 22 December Monday 23 December Tuesday 24 December Wednesday 25 December



Sitemap

The Rolling Stones Vol 5 Aftermath, OC WordLife, Jimmy Page Lucifer Rising And Other Sound Tracks, Ladytron Velocifero, Ennio Morricone MondoMorricone Revisited Irressistable Cult Movie Themes By Ennio Morricone Volume 1, DJ Skull Stomping Grounds, Balla Et Ses Balladins Objectif Perfection, Rico Africa Afro Dub, Pharaoh Sanders Pharaohs First, Dimas III So Funny I Wont Love You Again, Joy Orbison Kassem Mosse Think And Change Plate Four, Marc Cohn Marc Cohn, Clan Tropical Clan Tropical

9 thoughts on “ Neil Young Crazy Horse Sleeps With Angels

  1. Find many great new & used options and get the best deals for Sleeps With Angels - Neil Young and Crazy Horse CD at the best online prices at eBay! Free shipping for many products!
  2. Though it once again reunites him with Crazy Horse and includes such typical rock workouts as the lengthy "Change Your Mind" and the raucous "Piece of Crap," Sleeps With Angels is more musically varied than most of Neil Young's albums with his erstwhile backup group, ranging from piano-based ballads like the album opener, "My Heart," and closer, "A Dream That Can Last," which might have fit 7/
  3. May 02,  · If Neil Young has a pronounced weakness, it's a lack of focus. Restless to a fault, he's apt to rush into the recording studio without fully forming his ideas. Sleeps with Angels is that kind of album--and yet it's one of his best. Jarred by the death of Kurt Cobain (the rock & roll martyr quoted Young in his suicide note), he dashed off this collection of songs in with backing from his /5(58).
  4. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Sleeps With Angels on Discogs. Label: Reprise Records - CDW • Format: CD Album • Country: Canada • Genre: Rock • Style: Alternative Rock, Blues Rock. Neil Young & Crazy Horse: Sleeps With Angels /5(22).
  5. Neil Young and Crazy Horse Featuring "Change your mind" Some copies can include a printed insert with lyrics & credits. Records housed in transparent plastic inner sleeves in a non-gatefold cover. Barcode and Other Identifiers Barcode: 0 0 Neil Young & Crazy Horse: Sleeps With Angels.
  6. Neil’s mid-’90s masterpiece contains the darkest, most wounded music he’d released since ’s death-stained Tonight’s the Night, with his trusty backing band Crazy Horse providing queasy texture instead of their usual grungy creature666.deinfo ominous, rumbling title track is haunted—musically and spiritually—by Kurt Cobain's ghost, but Young also turns his bleak perspective to America.
  7. Sep 09,  · Sleeps With Angels, an Album by Neil Young and Crazy Horse. Released 16 August on Reprise (catalog no. 9 ; CD). Genres: Rock, Heartland Rock/5(81).
  8. May 19,  · Sleeps with Angels is the 20th studio album by Canadian musician Neil Young, released on August 16, , on Reprise as a double LP and as a single CD. Co-produced by David Briggs, the album is /5(10).
  9. Oct 17,  · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Neil Young & Crazy Horse - Sleeps With Angels at Discogs. Complete your Neil Young & Crazy Horse collection.4/5().

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *