Skip to content

Category: Blues

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Blues"

07.03.2010

Spanky Doin It


Download Spanky Doin It

The label was owned by Jay Ward Productions who were the creators of the hit cartoon Rocky and Bullwinkle. Barnum was in charge. Spanky was only supposed to be in California for six weeks, but six weeks quickly turned into three or four months. Whoever he recorded. I did backgrounds on Letta Mbulu, O. Smith, Lou Rawls … anybody he recorded I did background on. Then I split. When I went to Brazil to do the music festival the record that was out at the time was Let it Be.

The first of which was Gene Diamond. I would see him in H. I knew him, but we were never really good friends. Not like Paul Mooney. I think she did a 45 for him. She was a very strong singer. She would go back and forth from New York to Los Angeles. And we really got to talk then. She used to write all my charts. She used to watch my children. Her children were younger than mine because my children were already older when we moved out there. We lived close to each other right outside of Los Angeles.

Just the one single. She Spanky Doin It very talented. Like a Dorothy Donegan kind of a chick. She came after. He must have came after me. As Spanky mentioned, she split after the Spanky Doin It LP's on Mother's. But before she left, a funny thing happened Spanky Doin It the Spanky Doin It to her next recording contract. The music had been done in French originally. The theme had been sung by a French person.

But he wanted to Spanky Doin It an English version of the theme song. The French version did make it to a later CD repackage. They had one scene were the guys were marching and all of these guys were supposed to be whistling. So they had a couple of guys in the studio and they were overdubbing them Spanky Doin It make a whole battallion or something.

So they asked me if I could whistle and I said yeah. So I ended up whistling a part with these other two guys and they overdubbed it Silverchair The Diorama Box overdubbed it. I see the film on TV all the time.

She credits Jefferson with teaching her vocalese, in addition to befriending her and helping her to get work. It was the Spanky Doin It thing. It was never nationwide, it was never across the country. Before I went with Westbound, there was a guy from Atlantic Records who wanted Spanky Doin It talk to me about being on Atlantic. The owner of the club, who happened to be in love with me, he wanted to keep me coming to Detroit all the time, so Spanky Doin It never knew the guy was there to see me until after I signed with Westbound Records.

I tell people how I looked back then got in my way more than it helped. After the last recording we fell out. It was because they were doing bullshit promotions. It was here and there and wherever they had a friend. That kind of shit. They had the nerve to send me a bill and say that I owed them however many thousands of dollars for the recording. Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Wednesday 24 July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Saturday 27 July Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Monday 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Spanky Doin It 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Spanky Doin It Roy Of The Ravers 2 Late 4 Love August Sunday 1 September Monday 2 September Spanky Doin It 3 September Wednesday 4 September Thursday 5 September Friday 6 September Saturday 7 September Sunday 8 September Monday 9 September Tuesday 10 September Wednesday 11 September Thursday 12 September Friday 13 Spanky Doin It Saturday 14 September Sunday Sulfurex Point Break September Monday 16 September Tuesday 17 September Wednesday 18 September Thursday 19 September Friday 20 September Saturday 21 September Sunday 22 September Monday 23 September Tuesday 24 September Wednesday 25 September Thursday 26 September Friday 27 September Saturday 28 September Sunday 29 September Monday 30 September Tuesday 1 October There, she sang in Kelis Live From Metropolis Studios and was introduced to H.

Barnumwho invited her to record. She sang as a backing vocalist on The Moody Blues The Magnificent Moodies by Letta MbuluO. SmithLou Rawls and others, before releasing her first single, "The Last Day of Summer", produced by Barnum and released in early The single Spanky Doin It was again co-written by Howlett Smith, and Spanky Doin It released the album Specialty of the House the following year.

She returned to live in Los Angeles, and performed in clubs there for several years, before moving to ParisFrancein and re-marrying. During the late s and s, she performed mainly in France, Germany and other parts of Europe.



Sitemap

Various Understanding Latin Rhythms Vol II Down To Basics, Various The Warriors I Guerrieri Della Notte Colonna Sonora Originale Del Film, Yma Sumac Legend Of The Jivaro, Pixies Here Comes Your Man, John Zorn Naked City, Accolade Accolade, Patchwork Mean And Dirty, Broken Bells Broken Bells, Principe Y Su Sexteto En El Bonche, Buddy Guy A Man And The Blues, Charles Maurice Remastered Series Vol1, Mariachi El Bronx Mariachi El Bronx, Reyes 73 Baila Mi Son, ESP Low, Simon Fisher Turner Caravaggio 1610 Sound Sketches For Michele Of The Shadows

9 thoughts on “ Spanky Doin It

  1. Doin' It, an Album by Spanky. Released in on Mothers Records & The Snarf Company (catalog no. MRS; Vinyl LP). Genres: Soul, Soul Jazz. Featured peformers: H.B. Barnum (producer, arranger), Brian Brunderlin (engineer), Spanky Wilson (vocals).
  2. The original Mothers Records & The Snarf Company release of Spanky Wilson's sophomore set Doin' It has long been an in-demand item on the funk collecting scene. Happily, Soul Brother has decided to give the LP a warranted reissue.
  3. WILSON SPANKY - Doin It - creature666.deinfo Music. Skip to main content. Try Prime CDs & Vinyl Go Search EN.
  4. ^ Billboard - Volume 81 "Superscope's initial product from H. B. Barnum will be the LP " Doin' It" by Spanky Wilson which originally came out on Barnum's Mothers label." External links .
  5. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Doin' It on Discogs/5(34).
  6. Jun 23,  · Spanky Wilson & the Quantic Soul Orchestra - Don't Joke With a hungry man - Live in Paris - Duration: Full Power , views.
  7. 11 rows · Mar 02,  · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Spanky* - Doin' /5(87).
  8. Spanky And Our Gang - Give A Damn Spanky De Brest - Onionz - Doin Damage EP Spanky & Our Gang - Anything You Choose B/W Without Rhyme Or Reason Odan - Chunk Spanky EP Spanky Wilson - Love Land / You Mister D - Southland Riders Vol. 1 Spanky Wilson - You / Sunshine Of Your Love Spanky Rodgers - Digit Fidgit Boogie Down Dee Jays - Spanky.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *