Skip to content

Category: Rock and Roll

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Rock and Roll"

17.04.2010

Egg The Civil Surface


Download Egg The Civil Surface

It had plenty to do with the Decca label which signed a whole list of artists and failed to promote any which meant EGG was just one of a long list of rather strange sound makers that didn't fit in with the mainstream. Add to that the band failed to score many live gigs and remained rather obscure during the band's original four year stint that lasted from no matter how critically lauded these musical maestros had become and no matter how cutting edge their musical style was in Egg The Civil Surface ways.

No, it would take several decades for a new progressive rock renaissance to reignite any interest in the music this trio so cleverly crafted. You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing use forum credentials.

Forum user Forum password. Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Monday 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Saturday 31 August Sunday 1 September Monday 2 September Tuesday 3 September Egg The Civil Surface Wednesday 4 September Thursday 5 September Friday 6 September Saturday 7 September Sunday 8 September Monday 9 September Tuesday 10 September Although Egg had presented some of the material within on their final tour, still that long ago taster barely primed fans for what was to come.

For as experimental as the trio had been in days of yore, with Civil Surface the band moved Egg The Civil Surface completely into improvisational, avant-garde territory. Still, echoes of the past could be heard on "Enneagram," with its intricate rhythms and tempo changes and coursing passages counterpointed Egg The Civil Surface slower effervescent segments. It begins with a clicking metronome, skittering Klein MBO The Most Dirty Talk, and a trumpet reveille, as the germs fall into line then march off into jazz, circle Egg The Civil Surface territory, and assault the bastions of avant-garde.

The woodwinds are further highlighted on both the bright and airy "Wind Quartet 1" and the introspective "Wind Quartet 2," while a heavenly choir floats through "Prelude. AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript. Many of the songs focus on the interplay between Brooks' drums and Dave Stewart's organ, with Mont Campbell's bass work and other contributions providing a subtle touch.

Part of me Egg The Civil Surface what the songs would have sounded like if Egg had recorded them in ; would they really have had this dreamy, Hatfield-like air, or would they have had a bit more of the dark intensity of the Polite Force?

We'll never know, although anyone lucky enough to have attended an Egg Egg The Civil Surface back during the band's lifetime probably have some idea. While Canterbury fans will doubtless want to get their hands on the album, it's neither the best the scene has to offer, nor a complete waste of time despite the issues with the mix : it's good, and pleasant, but nothing more than that.

Three stars. The drums take the lead then keys come in. He also says they're not really EGG material but something Mont was working on. Just a solid sound to open with those crisp drums.

The sound quality is excellent. It settles 4 minutes in and this sounds amazing too. The organ dominates around 3 minutes. Great sound. It turns spacey after 2 minutes. Drums and a melody around 3 minutes, fuzz organ follows and some nice James Gang James Gang Rides Again. Vocals and that opening soundscape are back after 6 minutes. What a song! A very solid album that all Canterbury fans should check out.

Nevertheless I recognize Dave Stewart here playing the organ, the piano and even a bass guitar! So make your own Egg The Civil Surface at the end, cause an objective evaluation is difficult here! I think, from it's title, that it's supposed to sound millitaristic but it's too fun and quirky to do so.

Definitely in the "tongue-in-cheek" realm of musical renderings. Even the 'conversation' of multiple keyboards in Tom Dissevelt Electronic Music sixth minute seem comical. The ensuing "buzz bass" solo is the song's most serious moment but it is bookended by Dave's circus-like organ and piano Egg The Civil Surface.

I like the horns around and the French horn solo to fade. A very memorable if not awfully melodic song suite. Nice piece with a nice, very British, more classical than jazz, arrangement. A rather Egg The Civil Surface uptempo song Egg The Civil Surface wide dynamic variation. Dave's cerebral experimentation is matched by Mont's bass play with no drum or percussion play until the mark. The surprise entry of the odd choral section as presented by the future "Northettes" is a bit discordant and disruptive, but no weirder than the solo organ play to the song's end.

I guess it all works in the scheme of the whole "prelude" thing. This is a very strong section of the song--very solid and confident sounding. Some nice medieval- like melodies and moods evoked here. This just makes the music a little colder, a little less accessible to me, the listener. No wonder Clive wanted his drums to be loud and forward in the mix! Views Read Edit View history. By using this site, you agree Pharoah Sanders Summun Bukmun Umyun Deaf Dumb Blind the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

August Saturn Studios, Worthing.



Sitemap

Halsey Room 93, The Maine Forever Halloween, Rudo Freedom, The Cure The Head On The Door, Unknown Artist Persie Edits Volume 5, Seidensticker Schwarz Vom Harz, Popol Vuh Yoga, Roberto Roena Y Su Apollo Sound 2, Belle And Sebastian Tigermilk, U Roy Sister Audrey True Born African, Roosevelt Matthews With Billy Ball The Upsetters Tighten Up You Got Me Diggin You, Jethro Tull Stand Up

9 thoughts on “ Egg The Civil Surface

  1. The Polite Force. The music is a fine example of early English progressive rock, bearing many similarities to Soft Machine. Although the music of Egg does have occasional singing, it is mostly instrumental and as such relies on tight ensemble playing and interesting thematic and melodic material with extended chordal harmonies and irregular time creature666.deinfo: Progressive rock.
  2. Excellent sounding pressing of Egg’s 3rd album which was sadly only recorded after they had split up. Charming in places and eccentric in others, unconventional time signatures a plenty and some wonderful playing by guest musicians on Oboe, Bassoon, Clarinet and Flute/5(83).
  3. The Civil Surface Egg. Released December About “The Civil Surface” “The Civil Surface” Q&A. Album Credits. Produced by Egg. Written By Mont Campbell & Dave Stewart.
  4. 's The Civil Surface has been in and out of print on CD (mostly out), but Esoteric Records' Mark Powell has applied the same loving care that he did to Eclectic's earlier remastered reissues of Egg's first two discs, making this the definitive version.
  5. The Civil Surface is a music studio album recording by EGG (Canterbury Scene/Progressive Rock) released in on cd, lp / vinyl and/or cassette/5.
  6. Egg began in with the trio of Dave Stewart (organ, piano, bass on Nearch), Clive Brooks (drums) and Mont Cambell (bass, voice, french horn, piano). After two records the group disbanded in Fortunately, two years later Dave Stewart signed a deal with Virgin Records owner Richard Branson and commenced working on their third album The Civil Surface.
  7. Egg (4) Eire Apparent (1) Ekseption (14) El Pasador (1) Electric Food (2) Electric Light Orchestra (12) Electric Mud (1) Elektradrive (1) Elephant's Memory (2) Elf (3) Ellis (2) Elonkorjuu (1) Eloy (17) Elton John (23) Elvis Presley (2) Embryo (1) Emerson Lake and Palmer (10) Emmylou Harris (3) Empire (1) Empire (UK) (1) Engelbert Humperdinck (3) England (1) Enigma (1) Ennio Morricone (1)Author: Heep.
  8. 13 rows · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Egg - The Civil Surface at /5().
  9. Germ Patrol, Wind Quartet 1, Enneagram, Prelude, Wring Out the Ground (Loosely Now), Nearch, Wind Quartet 2 Musicians Dave Stewart – organ, piano, bass (on "Nearch"), Clive Brooks – drums, Mont Campbell – bass, voice, French horn, piano.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *