Skip to content

Category: Classical Rock/Progressive

Home ⁄ Archive by Category "Classical Rock/Progressive"

31.05.2010

The Techniques I Wish It Would Rain There Comes A Time


Download The Techniques I Wish It Would Rain There Comes A Time

The session was also at Studio A, Dearborn Heights, Detroit, and was the dream of a year-old Dixon, back into pay homage to musicians, particularly The Funk Brothers, producers and those who influenced him with their music. It took Dixon almost 33 years to find the musicians and meet via the web site soulfuldetroit. It was via this web site that he King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard Head On Pill Dennis Coffey hooked up and then eventually collaborated to make the session work.

On Dennis Coffey's suggestion there were two drummers on this session, Uriel Jones and Spider Webb, who shared responsibility for the groove throughout the recordings, along with Bob's pounding bass lines.

Not unlike such producers as George MartinPhil Spector and Brian Wilsonthe band used many techniques that are rarely used in recorded music. A number of songs utilized unusual instrumentation. The Temptations ' " It's Growing " features Earl Van Dyke playing a toy piano for the song's introduction, snow chains were used as Destruction Sentence Of Death on Martha and the Vandellas ' " Nowhere to Run ", and a custom oscillator was built to create the synthesizer sounds heard on many of the later records such as the Supremes ' " Reflections " and " Forever Came Today ", and the Temptations' " Runaway Child, Running Wild ".

A tire iron was used on the Martha and the Vandellas song Mance Lipscomb Texas Sharecropper And Songster Dancing in the Street ". James Jamersonwho began his career playing upright bass which he played on such hits as the Miracles ' " Shop Around ", Mary Wells ' " My Guy " and Martha and the Vandellas' " Heat Wave " adopted the Fender Precision Bassan electric instrument, inand overdubbed on both an upright and an electric bass on some Motown recordings.

The Funk Brothers have received three Grammy awards:. As discussed above, the name "The Funk Brothers" was a loosely applied designation. The National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences recognizes 13 musicians as official "Funk Brothers", but the name is often casually used as a catch-all designation to cover any musician who played on a Motown record.

In fact, the "Funk Brothers" name wasn't used until Benny Benjamin referred to his fellow musicians by that name while leaving a studio session in the s. The following list covers the musicians most frequently used on Motown recordings from through ; it is not an exhaustive list of every musician ever used.

Membership lists based upon research by Allan Slutsky, with some minor corrections. Los Angeles was an alternate recording center for Motown artists beginning in the mids, utilizing a different set of musicians. Rodger Penzabene was my cousin. I The Jack Wilson Quartet Featuring Roy Ayers Ramblin ever remember meeting him i was 10 when he died.

I always loved this song and knew he wrote it. Didnt know why he killed himself though. Thanks for writing this about him! I was a teenager madly in Love with the Temptations, and their lead singers singers on both songs. I thank God for Mr. May he rest well in peace and in paradise. Everytime I hear the song your my everything it reminds me of us battling in the war in Vietnam. Morrissey Beethoven Was Deaf night at abt.

This was in when it first came out. In I love the song just as much today. I was just floored when I found out the reason for the song. This song will always have great meaning whenever I hear it. Rodger wrote 3 of the most heartfelt, deeply personal songs of all time. His music will live forever although his life was cut short.

Thank you for your everlasting legacy. At the time, I thought it was a good song with a fictional inspiration. Rodger did have 2 sons The Techniques I Wish It Would Rain There Comes A Time Jr.

P Cuz. I had a next door neighbor in Degrees Of Freedom China these songs hit. Butchie could sing the hell out of the David Ruffin parts. We had no idea of the pain of the songwriter. More so than a number of other Motown songs, there is real sentiment and pain behind the song's words. Lyricist Penzabene had just The Techniques I Wish It Would Rain There Comes A Time out The Techniques I Wish It Would Rain There Comes A Time wife was cheating on him with another man.

Unable to deal with the pain and unable to stop loving his wife, Penzabene expressed his pain in the lyrics of this song and its follow-up on the Temptations' release schedule, " I Could Lil Louis French Kiss Love Another After Loving You ".

The distraught Penzabene committed suicide on New Year's Evea week after the single's release. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Nielsen Company. Retrieved 16 June Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Monday 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday 31 October Friday 1 November Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Holocaust The Nightcomers 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 The Techniques I Wish It Would Rain There Comes A Time Friday 29 November Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Tuesday 3 December Wednesday 4 December Thursday 5 December Friday 6 December Saturday 7 December Sunday 8 December The Techniques I Wish It Would Rain There Comes A Time 9 December Tuesday 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Christina Kubisch On Air 14 December



Sitemap

Eddie Encinas Eddie Encinas Presenta A Sus Latinos Modernos, Ryley Walker All Kinds Of You, The Amboy Dukes Journey To The Center Of The Mind, Various 7 Inches For Planned Parenthood, Mike Pedicin Rosemary Burnt Toast And Black Coffee Not Much Do You Baby, Various 2001 Una Odisea Espacial Banda Original Del Film, Loop Heavens End, GEN Time Square, Drexciya Journey Of The Deep Sea Dweller III, Neil Young With Crazy Horse Americana, Coco Lagos Y Sus Orates Guajira Boogaloo Descarga Jala Jala, Ranking Dread Ranking Dread In Dub, Wes Montgomery Full House, The National Boxer

9 thoughts on “ The Techniques I Wish It Would Rain There Comes A Time

  1. The single was the focal point of the Temptations' album The Temptations Wish It Would Rain. Personnel. Lead vocals by David Ruffin; Background vocals by Eddie Kendricks, Melvin Franklin, Paul Williams, and Otis Williams; Written by Norman Whitfield, Barrett Strong, and Rodger Penzabene; Produced by Norman WhitfieldGenre: Soul.
  2. Mar 25,  · Great soulful original from Jamaican group The Techniques, very influenced by The Impressions. They changed lead singer many times, but I think .
  3. There have been many articles written that identify members of the Funk Brothers, some of which claim that virtually every musician who ever played on a Motown track was a "Funk Brother". There are 13 Funk Brothers identified in the film Standing in the Shadows of creature666.deinfo: Soul, funk, R&B.
  4. Discogs: Vinyl, I Wish It Would Rain / There Comes A Time. リリースのクレジット、レビュー、トラックを確認し、購入。.
  5. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of I Wish It Would Rain / There Comes A Time on Discogs.5/5(8).
  6. Feb 02,  · Then I thought about “I Wish It Would Rain,” a very powerful, very moving song. Only, I learned, Barrett Strong didn’t write the lyric, Rodger Penzabene did (with music by Whitfield). And when I read a little more about the story behind the song, and about Penzabene’s ultimate fate, it was too compelling a tale to hold off on.
  7. 7" Single on 45cat: Techniques - I Wish It Would Rain / There Comes A Time - Duke - UK - DU 1: 45worlds 45spaces 45cat. Welcome Guest! Login or Create Account My Page Collection Wishlist Messages Techniques - Man Of My Word / Time Has Come - Dub Store - .
  8. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Little Did You Know / I Wish It Would Rain on Discogs. Label: Techniques - none • Format: Vinyl 7 The Techniques - Little Did You Know / I Wish It Would Rain (Vinyl) | Discogs/5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *